| | | | | | | |

Stations of the Cross for Kids

This post may contain affiliate links.

Today I want to share with you a mini book of the Stations of the Cross for kids.

When I was in college, I had the amazing opportunity of spending a semester abroad in Jerusalem.  It was a life changing experience for me and I think of it often. I learned so many incredible things while there that I will never forget.  I had the opportunity to walk the Via Dolorosa and see the Stations of the Cross for myself.  It is an incredible thing to walk and witness such significant sites.

As we approach Easter season, Holy Week, and are in the midst of Lent, I thought this would be a great way to teach my kids about the Stations of the Cross.  The Stations of the Cross is not something we have learned and studied in our faith. But I have been delving much deeper into different ways to observe religious days throughout the year.

stations of the cross book for kids

I made a little printable book featuring kid-friendly illustrations and explanations of each for the 14 stations.  Introducing kids to the Stations of the Cross can be a powerful way to help them understand and reflect on the journey of Jesus to the cross. This is great for younger children and older children alike! There is a color and black & white version available in this printable file.

This free printable Stations of the Cross book is something that could be used at home, or in church Sunday school classrooms. Many will pray the Stations of the Cross on Good Friday. Good Friday is the day that Christ died and is the Friday before Easter Sunday.

About the Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross are points along the Via Dolorosa in Jerusalem. Via Dolorosa literally means way of sorrows. It is the path in the Old City of Jerusalem that is believed to be the path Jesus Christ walked on His way to being crucified.

Station 1: The first station of the cross marks the place where Jesus was judged and condemned to death. This is where the crown of thorns was placed on his head. This took place at the Fortress of Antonia, near the Lion’s Gate of the Old City of Jerusalem.

Station 2: The second station marks the place where Jesus took up his cross to carry to His crucifixion.  There are now two small churches at this station, the Chapel of the Flagellation and the Chapel of Judgement.

Station 3: The third station marks the place where Jesus fell for the first time under the weight of the cross.  There is now a Polish Catholic church there with a painting depicting the fall. This event is not mentioned in the Bible.

Station 4:  At the fourth station, Jesus saw his mother, Mary. This event also is not mentioned in the Bible. There is an Armenian church here marking the location. This church has a painting above the entrance of Jesus meeting His mother.

Station 5:  At the fifth station, Simon of Cyrene is instructed to help bear the cross and ease His suffering. This is mentioned in Luke 23. There is a smooth stone in the wall that is said to have an imprint of Christ’s hand as He rated here. Many a pilgrim has touched this stone over the past 2000 years. A small Franciscan chapel was built at this station.

Station 6: The sixth station marks the place where Veronica wiped Christ’s face with her veil.

Station 7:  The seventh station marks the place where Jesus fell for a second time as he carried his cross up the hill to Golgotha. There is now a Franciscan chapel marking the location.  This event is not in the Bible.

Station 8:  The eighth station marks the place where the women of Jerusalem wept over Him as mentioned in Luke 23 & 27. Here Jesus told His friends not to weep for Him. This would have been outside of the walls of Jerusalem at the time. It is now marked with a Greek Orthodox church. You can find here a Greek emblem carved into the wall with the inscription reading Jesus Christ conquers.

Station 9: At the ninth station is marked the place where Jesus falls for the third time while carrying the heavy cross. A cross on the wall marks this station.

Station 10:  The tenth station, and the rest following are all inside The Church of the Holy Sepulchre. This station marks the place where Jesus was stripped of his garments, also called the division of robes as mentioned in Mark 15 & 24. IT is a room inside the Holy Sepulchre called the Chapel of the Franks.

Station 11: The eleventh station marks where Jesus is nailed to the cross. This would have been on the hill Golgotha, outside of the city.  But is marked inside the sepulcher with a Franciscan altar.

Station 12: The twelfth station marks where Jesus dies on the cross. This is represented by a Greek altar. Beneath this altar is a hole marking the place where the cross would have been.

Station 13: The thirteenth station represents where Jesus was taken down from the cross. It is a slab of stone, called the Stone of Atonement. This is believed to be where Jesus’ body was placed after He was taken down from the cross. Here they would have prepared His body for burial.

Station 14:  The fourteenth station is where Jesus is placed in the tomb.  This is the holiest site for Christians and one that so many come to see from all over the world. Here is the Chapel of the Angel. There is a small boulder that closed His tomb. Here, it is said, Jesus was buried and resurrected after three days.

Station 15:  While this is not always included, it is a very important addition!  This station is represented by the Resurrection of Christ.

Download this free printable Stations of the Cross booklet now!

I love the Easter season and this time of focusing on Christ’s resurrection. I am grateful for great love for me and all of humankind. I am grateful for His willingness to sacrifice for us!  I hope you’ll take some time to teach these important things to your children and to offer up a prayer of thanks today!

Need a great printer?  This HP LaserJet is our favorite!

See More Easter Themed Content:

The Easter Story in Eggs: Resurrection Eggs

Easter Egg Math Puzzles

Easter Pattern Block Mats

Easter Science: Borax Crystal Eggs

Peter Rabbit Felt Easter Craft

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply